Elections and Voting


Ward 2 Vacancy

Effective January 1, 2017, a vacancy will occur for a seat on the Moorhead City Council. The City of Moorhead is accepting applications for appointment to the City Council, representing the second ward of the City. Applications are available online at cityofmoorhead.com or at the City Clerk’s Office at Moorhead City Hall. Any qualified person may submit an application to the City through November 30, 2016, by one of the methods indicated in the application. The appointment to this position will be effective January 1, 2017, at 12:00 a.m. CST, with the appointee serving a two (2) year term.

Application for Appointment to Council Form
Precinct Map


2016 ElectionsFind Your Polling Place Button for Elections Webpage

General Election, November 8
Any eligible voter living in the City of Moorhead may vote at the polling place or combined place designated for the precinct in which he or she resides. These polling places are for the primary general elections.

2016 Polling Map (Ward/Precinct Map)

Polling sites will be open from 7 am to 8 pm on the day of the election.

A voter must be registered to vote to be eligible to vote in this election. An unregistered individual may register to vote at the polling place on election day.  Additional information on voter registration and eligibility at the bottom of this page. 

Find your Polling Place
Enter your address into the Ward/Precinct Finder to identify your polling location, which includes a map to the site. The Ward/Precinct Map provides a description of all ward and precinct boundaries as well as all polling locations throughout the city.

 If you live in:
You will vote at:
 Ward  Precinct Location
 1  1a


St. Francis de Sales Church
601 15 Ave N

Moorhead, MN 56560

 1  1b
 1  2

Moorhead Center Mall Atrium

500 Center Ave

Moorhead, MN 56560

 2  3

Moorhead Youth Hockey Arena

707 SE Main Ave

Moorhead, MN 56560

 2  4

Triumph Lutheran Brethren Church

2901 20 St S

Moorhead, MN 56560

 2  5a

Minnesota State University Moorhead - Comstock Memorial Union

615 14 St S

Moorhead, MN 56560

 2  5b

Grace United Methodist Church

1120 17 St S

Moorhead, MN 56560

 3  6a

Concordia College - Knutson Campus Center

901 8 St S

Moorhead, MN 56560

 3  6b

First Congregational United Church of Christ

406 8 St S

Moorhead, MN 56560

 3  7

First Presbyterian Church

2900 5 St S

Moorhead, MN 56560

 3  8

Valley Christian Church

611 37 Ave S

Moorhead, MN 56560

 4  9

Calvary Church at Village Green

2801 Village Green Blvd

Moorhead, MN 56560

 4  10


Brookdale Baptist Church

1401 40 Ave S

Moorhead, MN 56560


 4  11
 4  12

Calvary Church at Village Green

2801 Village Green Blvd

Moorhead, MN 56560

Voter Registration and Eligibility
Voter registration is required in Minnesota.

How to register to vote (links below will direct you to the Office of the Minnesota Secretary of State website):

Who can vote in Minnesota?

  • You must be:
  • You can vote while under guardianship unless a judge specifically has revoked your right to vote
  • You cannot vote if a court has ruled that you are legally incompetent

For additional information on voter registration and proof of residence, please visit the Office of the Minnesota Secretary of State website or contact the Clay County Auditor's Office.

Running for City Council
City General Election, November 8
There are four Council seats up for reelection this fall. Candidate filing period is August 2 - 16, 2016.

Election Administration and Campaigns

Ward Position Term
 1  Council Member
4 years
 2  Council Member
4 years
 3  Council Member
4 years
 4  Council Member
4 years

Election Judges
Apply by October 11, 2016

Election judges are paid officials that staff local polling places, administer election procedures, and ensure the rights of voters are protected on Election Day. Serving as an election judge provides an opportunity to learn about the elections process and is a great service to our community. Citizens must be available for the August and November elections in order to apply; preferably all day from 6 am to 10 pm (potentially even later). Polls are open 7 am to 8 pm; election judges are needed earlier and later to open and close polling sites.

Election Judge Pamphlet
Election Judge Training (required) has been scheduled for October 12, 2016 from 1 pm to 3 pm at the Clay County Courthouse.

Duties performed by an election judge include:

  • Setup of the polling site
  • Operate voting equipment
  • Register new voters
  • Ensure all qualified voters are permitted to vote
  • Demonstrate how to vote
  • Distribute and collect ballots
  • Assist voters
  • Close down polling place following voting
  • Record and certify vote totals

If you are interested in becoming an election judge, please contact the City Clerk's Office at 218.299.5166 (option 3) or email. You may also fill out the Election Judge Form and mail to City of Moorhead, ATTN: City Clerk, 500 Center Ave, Box 779, Moorhead, MN 56561-0799.

Additional Election Resources